Private Nonprofit · Seattle, Washington

City University of Seattle

City University of Seattle is a private nonprofit institution in Seattle, Washington. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

$69,460
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

City University of Seattle posts top-10% former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 8%
former-student earnings, US
+24%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Large Carnegie: Doctoral/Prof
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this City University of Seattle profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Doctoral/Professional Universities"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

C+
College Value Score
63/100
City University of Seattle

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings A+
$69,460
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt F
$25,000
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment C+
64.8%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
City University of Seattle vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$69,460

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - City University of Seattle vs peers

City University of Seattle positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. City University of Seattle positioned by ear… Carnegie Classification: Doctoral/Prof Doctoral/P… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $28K $73K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $7K $40K Avg Net Price ($) Saint Martin's University: $62K earn · $28K net · 55% grad Saint Martin's Uni… Perry Technical Institute: $58K earn · $20K net · 78% grad Perry Technical In… Walla Walla University: $62K earn · $23K net · 62% grad Walla Walla Univer… Heritage University: $49K earn · $15K net · 46% grad Heritage University Whitman College: $68K earn · $33K net · 81% grad Whitman College University of Puget Sound: $70K earn · $38K net · 68% grad University of Puge… Seattle Central College: $43K earn · $9K net · 31% grad Aveda Arts & Sciences Institute Seattle: $32K earn · $24K net Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How City University of Seattle ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

City University of Seattle: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$69,460 Top 8% higher than 92% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). Below this entry. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). This entry sits in this band. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Above this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric City University of Seattle National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $69,460 #391 of 5103 92nd
Undergraduate enrollment 1,137 #2056 of 5462 62nd

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

1,137
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$69,460
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How City University of Seattle ranks in Washington

State rank among 87 reporting Washington colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric City University of Seattle State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $69,460 #8 of 87 91st
Undergraduate enrollment 1,137 #50 of 88 43rd

Highest former-student earnings in Washington

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1DigiPen Institute of Technology$79,878$44,446
2Gonzaga University$78,892$35,119
3University of Washington-Seattle Campus$78,466$14,091
4University of Washington-Bothell Campus$78,466$12,319
5University of Washington-Tacoma Campus$78,466$10,163
6Seattle University$75,272$34,662
7University of Puget Sound$69,594$38,394
8City University of SeattleThis school$69,460-
9Washington State University$68,905$14,971
10Washington State University-Vancouver$68,905-
11Washington State University-Spokane$68,905-
12Washington State University-Tri Cities$68,905-

Net price at City University of Seattle swings rather than trends

Across 3 reported years between 2013 and 2023, the average net price here has ranged from $23,557 to $35,049 without settling into a rise or a fall. Comparing only the first and last years would read as +9.1%, but the years in between do not follow that line, so the honest summary is the range rather than a trend. Budget against the upper end, not the average.

Lowest year
$23,557
Highest year
$35,049
Most recent (2023)
$35,049
Average net price, 2013–2023

3 reported years (years the source did not report are left as gaps). Nominal dollars, not adjusted for inflation.

2013: $32,1192018: $23,5572023: $35,049
2013 · $32,1192023 · $35,049

Over the same years, enrollment went -6.1% (1,162 → 1,091 students).

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, per-year fields (2013–2023). Net price is the average cost after grant and scholarship aid for federally-aided undergraduates.

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

60.1%
Female
40.9%
First Generation

Outcomes

$56,195
Median Earnings (6yr)
77.0%
Earning Over $25K
64.8%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $56,195
Median earnings 10 years after entry $69,460
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 77.0%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 64.8%
Median federal student debt At completion $25,000
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $265/mo

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Master's 7 186 $86,366 $107,564 $43,703
Bachelor's 3 140 $99,735 $99,735 $23,209
Doctoral 1 24 - - $76,037
Graduate Certificate 1 31 - - -

Top programs at City University of Seattle by completer earnings

Median earnings of program completers, College Scorecard field-of-study file

median earnings

What this shows The highest-earning programs at a school are not necessarily its most popular ones - a small specialized program can post strong median earnings without reflecting the outcome most students here actually see.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard As of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's 88 $107,564 $46,125
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's 126 $99,735 $23,209
Curriculum and Instruction Master's 41 $80,194 $41,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Master's 27 $71,341 $37,807
Education, General Bachelor's 11 - -
Educational Administration and Supervision Master's 5 - -
Educational Administration and Supervision Doctoral 24 - $76,037
Educational Administration and Supervision Graduate Certificate 31 - -
Special Education and Teaching Master's 0 - -
Student Counseling and Personnel Services Master's 0 - -
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods Bachelor's 3 - -
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology Master's 25 - $49,878

Independent Scorecard matches among reporting colleges — not recommendations from the institution or a counselor.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for City University of Seattle?
City University of Seattle is a private nonprofit institution in Seattle, Washington. Undergraduate enrollment is 1,137 students.
How much do City University of Seattle former students earn?
Federally aided former students at City University of Seattle who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $69,460 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $56,195.
Is City University of Seattle worth the student debt?
The median student debt at City University of Seattle is $25,000, while former students earn a median of $69,460 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 36% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 64.8% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $265.

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from City University of Seattle

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.