Public · New London, Connecticut

United States Coast Guard Academy

United States Coast Guard Academy is a public institution in New London, Connecticut. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.

90.3%
150%-time completion
22.4%
Acceptance rate

The verdict

United States Coast Guard Academy is a very selective admit.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

22.4%
acceptance rate
90.3%
150%-time completion
City: Small Carnegie: Bacc: Diverse
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this United States Coast Guard Academy profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

A+
College Value Score
95/100
United States Coast Guard Academy

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate A+
90.3%
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt N/A
N/A
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention A+
98.6%
First-year students returning for year two
United States Coast Guard Academy vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

90.3%

Full-time, first-time cohort

150%-time completion vs portal median (57.1%) 90.3%

Four-year-institution cohort

College ROI Quadrant - United States Coast Guard Academy vs peers

United States Coast Guard Academy positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. United States Coast Guard Academy positioned… Carnegie Classification: Bacc: Diverse Bacc: Dive… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $33K $79K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $9K $38K Avg Net Price ($) University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus: $74K earn · $11K net · 56% grad University of Conn… University of Connecticut-Hartford Campus: $74K earn · $16K net · 65% grad University of Conn… University of Connecticut-Avery Point: $74K earn · $14K net · 59% grad University of Conn… Charter Oak State College: $64K earn · $16K net Charter Oak State … University of Connecticut-Stamford: $74K earn · $17K net · 57% grad University of Conn… Eastern Connecticut State University: $56K earn · $21K net · 58% grad Eastern Connecticu… Connecticut College: $75K earn · $36K net · 83% grad Mitchell College: $39K earn · $30K net · 43% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

1,108
Undergraduate enrollment
22.4%
Acceptance rate
1,339
SAT average
90.3%
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
98.6%
First-year retention

How United States Coast Guard Academy ranks in Connecticut

State rank among 41 reporting Connecticut colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric United States Coast Guard Academy State rank Percentile
150%-time completion 90.3% #5 of 46 89th
Undergraduate enrollment 1,108 #23 of 50 54th

Highest former-student earnings in Connecticut

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Yale University$100,533$23,777
2Trinity College$90,779$34,832
3Fairfield University$88,794$48,095
4Quinnipiac University$83,759$40,675
5Sacred Heart University$75,059$46,174
6Connecticut College$75,001$36,175
7University of Connecticut$73,997$25,097
8University of Connecticut-Stamford$73,997$16,798
9University of Connecticut-Hartford Campus$73,997$16,403
10University of Connecticut-Waterbury Campus$73,997$10,875
11University of Connecticut-Avery Point$73,997$13,807
12Wesleyan University$73,897$30,177

Admissions

Admission Rate 22.4%
SAT Average 1,339
SAT Math (25th-75th) 620 – 700
SAT Reading (25th-75th) 620 – 700
ACT Average 27
ACT (25th-75th) 27 – 32
0%100%22.4%
Share of applicants admitted

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

Outcomes

98.6%
Retention Rate

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Completion within 150% of normal time First-time, full-time 90.3%
First-year retention First-time, full-time freshmen 98.6%

Programs & Earnings

No program-level earnings data available for this school.

Matches use Scorecard measures among reporting colleges — not state-system recommendations or geographic proximity.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the acceptance rate at United States Coast Guard Academy?
United States Coast Guard Academy is a public institution in New London, Connecticut. The acceptance rate is 22.4%. The average SAT score is 1,339. Undergraduate enrollment is 1,108 students.
What is the graduation rate at United States Coast Guard Academy?
United States Coast Guard Academy has a 90.3% completion rate within 150% of normal time at a four-year institution (typically six years for a bachelor’s program). The first-year retention rate is 98.6%.

Sources & methodology

Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.

Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from United States Coast Guard Academy

Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.