Public · Machias, Maine

University of Maine - Machias

University of Maine - Machias is a public institution in Machias, Maine. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.

$48,653
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

University of Maine - Machias posts above-median former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 31%
former-student earnings, US
+13%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this University of Maine - Machias profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class, and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

C
College Value Score
56/100
University of Maine - Machias

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings B-
$48,653
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt F
$25,000
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment A
82.1%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
University of Maine - Machias vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$48,653

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - University of Maine - Machias vs peers

University of Maine - Machias positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 6 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. University of Maine - Machias positioned by earnings vs cost COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $34K $52K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $6K $18K Avg Net Price ($) University of Maine: $49K earn · $18K net · 56% grad University of Maine Southern Maine Community College: $42K earn · $11K net · 24% grad Southern Maine Com… University of Southern Maine: $50K earn · $14K net · 43% grad University of Sout… Central Maine Community College: $42K earn · $7K net · 29% grad Central Maine Comm… University of Maine at Augusta: $40K earn · $11K net · 25% grad University of Main… University of Maine at Presque Isle: $41K earn · $7K net · 45% grad University of Main… Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How University of Maine - Machias ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

University of Maine - Machias: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$48,653 Top 31% higher than 69% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). This entry sits in this band. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). Above this entry. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Above this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric University of Maine - Machias National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $48,653 #1593 of 5103 69th

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

-
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$48,653
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How University of Maine - Machias ranks in Maine

State rank among 32 reporting Maine colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric University of Maine - Machias State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $48,653 #12 of 32 63rd

Highest former-student earnings in Maine

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Maine Maritime Academy$89,964$23,414
2Bowdoin College$82,735$14,398
3Colby College$80,490$17,180
4Maine College of Health Professions$79,840$26,312
5Bates College$69,498$29,351
6The Landing School$65,849$35,532
7Saint Joseph's College of Maine$59,045$27,555
8University of New England$55,921$38,107
9University of Maine at Fort Kent$51,077$7,482
10University of Southern Maine$49,958$13,596
11University of Maine$48,653$17,510
12University of Maine - MachiasThis school$48,653-

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $10,050
Out-of-State Tuition $18,540

Net Price by Family Income

$25,000
Median Debt
$265/mo
Monthly Payment

Outcomes

$43,124
Median Earnings (6yr)
67.9%
Earning Over $25K
82.1%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $43,124
Median earnings 10 years after entry $48,653
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 67.9%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 82.1%
Median federal student debt At completion $25,000
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $265/mo

Programs & Earnings

No program-level earnings data available for this school.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for University of Maine - Machias?
University of Maine - Machias is a public institution in Machias, Maine.
How much do University of Maine - Machias former students earn?
Federally aided former students at University of Maine - Machias who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $48,653 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $43,124.
Is University of Maine - Machias worth the student debt?
The median student debt at University of Maine - Machias is $25,000, while former students earn a median of $48,653 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 51% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 82.1% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $265.

Sources & methodology

Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.

Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from University of Maine - Machias

Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.