Private For-Profit · Signal Hill, California

American University of Health Sciences

American University of Health Sciences is a private for-profit institution in Signal Hill, California. as a private for-profit, published Scorecard outcomes are Title-IV-recipient medians — program mix and repayment risk deserve a closer look than a single headline number.

$93,610
10-yr median earnings
50.0%
Acceptance rate

The verdict

American University of Health Sciences pairs top-1% former-student earnings with a selective admit.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 1%
former-student earnings, US
50.0%
acceptance rate
-16%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
Suburb: Large Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this American University of Health Sciences profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

B
College Value Score
71/100
American University of Health Sciences

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings A+
$93,610
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt F
$40,326
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment B+
75.6%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention A+
100.0%
First-year students returning for year two
American University of Health Sciences vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$93,610

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - American University of Health Sciences vs peers

American University of Health Sciences positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. American University of Health Sciences posit… Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $10K $56K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $9K $38K Avg Net Price ($) California Aeronautical University: $38K earn · $36K net · 35% grad California Aeronau… Milan Institute-Palm Desert: $29K earn · $25K net · 52% grad Milan Institute-Pa… Advance Beauty College: $12K earn · $10K net · 76% grad Advance Beauty Col… Milan Institute-Merced: $25K earn · $23K net · 50% grad Milan Institute-Me… Bellus Academy-Chula Vista: $24K earn · $21K net · 65% grad Bellus Academy-Chu… North-West College-Long Beach: $40K earn · $34K net · 58% grad North-West College… John Wesley International Barber and Beauty College: $24K earn · $14K net · 73% grad Universal Technical Institute-Southern California: $53K earn · $28K net · 58% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How American University of Health Sciences ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

American University of Health Sciences: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$93,610 Top 1% higher than 99% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). Below this entry. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). Below this entry. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). This entry sits in this band. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric American University of Health Sciences National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $93,610 #66 of 5103 99th
Undergraduate enrollment 351 #3155 of 5462 42nd

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

351
Undergraduate enrollment
50.0%
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$93,610
10-yr median earnings
100.0%
First-year retention

How American University of Health Sciences ranks in California

State rank among 493 reporting California colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric American University of Health Sciences State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $93,610 #16 of 493 97th
Undergraduate enrollment 351 #308 of 553 44th

Highest former-student earnings in California

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Samuel Merritt University$143,238-
2Harvey Mudd College$138,687$35,924
3California Institute of Technology$128,566$16,075
4Stanford University$124,080$13,807
5Los Angeles County College of Nursing and Allied Health$115,318-
6Gnomon$114,785$51,949
7Santa Clara University$109,183$50,062
8Jesuit School of Theology of Santa Clara University$109,183-
9Touro University California$104,805-
10Claremont McKenna College$104,736$28,849
11West Coast University-Anaheim-Orange County$102,672$32,879
12West Coast University-Ontario$102,672$49,590
16American University of Health SciencesThis school$93,610-

Admissions

Admission Rate 50.0%
0%100%50%
Share of applicants admitted

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $24,575
Out-of-State Tuition $24,575

Net Price by Family Income

45.6%
Pell Grant Rate
83.0%
Federal Loan Rate
$40,326
Median Debt
$428/mo
Monthly Payment

Net price at American University of Health Sciences swings rather than trends

Across 10 reported years between 2013 and 2022, the average net price here has ranged from $15,138 to $28,145 without settling into a rise or a fall. Comparing only the first and last years would read as -7.8%, but the years in between do not follow that line, so the honest summary is the range rather than a trend. Budget against the upper end, not the average.

Lowest year
$15,138
Highest year
$28,145
Most recent (2022)
$25,963
Average net price, 2013–2022

10 reported years. Nominal dollars, not adjusted for inflation.

2013: $28,1452014: $25,6722015: $18,0632016: $18,0792017: $15,1382018: $24,9982019: $21,7062020: $22,9512021: $21,4122022: $25,963
2013 · $28,1452022 · $25,963

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, per-year fields (2013–2022). Net price is the average cost after grant and scholarship aid for federally-aided undergraduates.

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

78.1%
Female
35.2%
First Generation

Outcomes

100.0%
Retention Rate
$111,064
Median Earnings (6yr)
74.4%
Earning Over $25K
75.6%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
First-year retention First-time, full-time freshmen 100.0%
Median earnings 6 years after entry $111,064
Median earnings 10 years after entry $93,610
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 74.4%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 75.6%
Median federal student debt At completion $40,326
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $428/mo

Programs & Earnings

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's 77 $120,284 $37,584

Scorecard-derived matches among reporting colleges — not school marketing or paid placement lists.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the acceptance rate at American University of Health Sciences?
American University of Health Sciences is a private for-profit institution in Signal Hill, California. The acceptance rate is 50.0%. Undergraduate enrollment is 351 students.
How much do American University of Health Sciences former students earn?
Federally aided former students at American University of Health Sciences who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $93,610 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $111,064.
Is American University of Health Sciences worth the student debt?
The median student debt at American University of Health Sciences is $40,326, while former students earn a median of $93,610 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 43% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 75.6% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $428.

Sources & methodology

Private for-profit profiles foreground Scorecard debt, repayment, and program-level earnings where reported. Marketing claims from the school are not inputs to this page.

Every figure is the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrieval. For-profit program mixes can shift year to year — treat institution medians as a starting map, then check Field-of-Study rows below. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from American University of Health Sciences

For-profit Scorecard figures are Title-IV cohort history — verify current program costs, accreditation, and repayment outcomes with the school and official aid tools.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private for-profit profiles compile Scorecard debt/earnings and IPEDS operating fields from federal files — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.