Private Nonprofit · Lynchburg, Virginia

Centra College

Centra College is a private nonprofit institution in Lynchburg, Virginia. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

$60,122
10-yr median earnings
100.0%
Acceptance rate

The verdict

Centra College pairs top-quartile former-student earnings with open admission.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 16%
former-student earnings, US
100.0%
acceptance rate
+0%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Small Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Centra College profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

B
College Value Score
71/100
Centra College

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings A-
$60,122
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt D
$15,250
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment A-
77.2%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
Centra College vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$60,122

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Centra College vs peers

Centra College positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 6 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Centra College positioned by earnings vs cost Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $16K $69K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $6K $23K Avg Net Price ($) Virginia University of Lynchburg: $28K earn · $21K net · 33% grad Virginia Universit… Riverside College of Health Sciences: $66K earn · $21K net Riverside College … Cayce/Reilly School of Massage: $19K earn · $17K net · 92% grad Cayce/Reilly Schoo… University of Lynchburg: $56K earn · $22K net · 60% grad University of Lync… Randolph College: $53K earn · $16K net · 49% grad Randolph College Central Virginia Community College: $37K earn · $7K net · 43% grad Central Virginia C… Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How Centra College ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

Centra College: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$60,122 Top 16% higher than 84% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). Below this entry. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). This entry sits in this band. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Above this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric Centra College National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $60,122 #791 of 5103 84th
Undergraduate enrollment 219 #3567 of 5462 35th

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

219
Undergraduate enrollment
100.0%
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$60,122
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Centra College ranks in Virginia

State rank among 125 reporting Virginia colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Centra College State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $60,122 #23 of 125 82nd
Undergraduate enrollment 219 #86 of 126 32nd

Highest former-student earnings in Virginia

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Washington and Lee University$94,810$23,781
2Chamberlain University-Virginia$92,405$33,199
3University of Virginia-Main Campus$86,863$21,565
4Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University$81,698$24,953
5Sentara College of Health Sciences$77,821-
6Virginia Military Institute$77,369$17,113
7Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing$77,014-
8George Mason University$76,343$17,915
9University of Richmond$76,178$31,309
10William & Mary$73,490$19,096
11Southside College of Health Sciences$71,380-
12James Madison University$69,954$23,322
23Centra CollegeThis school$60,122-

Admissions

Admission Rate 100.0%
0%100%100%
Share of applicants admitted

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $12,983
Out-of-State Tuition $12,983

Net Price by Family Income

46.7%
Pell Grant Rate
69.3%
Federal Loan Rate
$15,250
Median Debt
$162/mo
Monthly Payment

Net price at Centra College swings rather than trends

Across 6 reported years between 2018 and 2023, the average net price here has ranged from $24,868 to $32,754 without settling into a rise or a fall. Comparing only the first and last years would read as -12.9%, but the years in between do not follow that line, so the honest summary is the range rather than a trend. Budget against the upper end, not the average.

Lowest year
$24,868
Highest year
$32,754
Most recent (2023)
$24,868
Average net price, 2018–2023

6 reported years. Nominal dollars, not adjusted for inflation.

2018: $28,5572019: $32,7542020: $32,6622021: $28,8872022: $28,4182023: $24,868
2018 · $28,5572023 · $24,868

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, per-year fields (2018–2023). Net price is the average cost after grant and scholarship aid for federally-aided undergraduates.

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

92.3%
Female
56.0%
First Generation

Outcomes

$60,052
Median Earnings (6yr)
84.6%
Earning Over $25K
77.2%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $60,052
Median earnings 10 years after entry $60,122
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 84.6%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 77.2%
Median federal student debt At completion $15,250
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $162/mo

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Bachelor's 1 14 $91,634 $91,634 $12,767
Associate's 1 98 $76,213 $76,213 $15,250
Certificate 1 27 $52,941 $52,941 $9,500

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's 14 $91,634 $12,767
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Associate's 98 $76,213 $15,250
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants Certificate 27 $52,941 $9,500

Independent Scorecard matches among reporting colleges — not recommendations from the institution or a counselor.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the acceptance rate at Centra College?
Centra College is a private nonprofit institution in Lynchburg, Virginia. The acceptance rate is 100.0%. Undergraduate enrollment is 219 students.
How much do Centra College former students earn?
Federally aided former students at Centra College who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $60,122 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $60,052.
Is Centra College worth the student debt?
The median student debt at Centra College is $15,250, while former students earn a median of $60,122 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 25% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 77.2% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $162.

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Centra College

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.