Private Nonprofit · Providence, Rhode Island

College Unbound

College Unbound is a private nonprofit institution in Providence, Rhode Island. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

$21,108
Avg net price / yr
City: Midsize Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this College Unbound profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Other Special Focus Institutions"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

C-
College Value Score
51/100
College Unbound

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price F
$21,108
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt C
$12,500
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention B+
85.7%
First-year students returning for year two
College Unbound vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

$21,108

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - College Unbound vs peers

College Unbound positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 7 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. College Unbound positioned by earnings vs cost Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $20K $98K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $17K $53K Avg Net Price ($) New England Institute of Technology: $49K earn · $36K net · 59% grad New England Instit… Rhode Island School of Design: $68K earn · $51K net · 89% grad Rhode Island Schoo… Salve Regina University: $73K earn · $37K net · 76% grad Salve Regina Unive… Johnson & Wales University-Providence: $43K earn · $31K net · 55% grad Johnson & Wales Un… Johnson & Wales University-Online: $43K earn · $20K net Johnson & Wales Un… Empire Beauty School-Warwick: $24K earn · $23K net · 79% grad Empire Beauty Scho… Brown University: $93K earn · $25K net · 96% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

491
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
85.7%
First-year retention

How College Unbound ranks in Rhode Island

State rank among 19 reporting Rhode Island colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric College Unbound State rank Percentile
Average net price $21,108 #7 of 20 65th (lower is better)
Undergraduate enrollment 491 #15 of 20 25th

Highest former-student earnings in Rhode Island

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Brown University$93,487$25,184
2Bryant University$90,008$41,219
3Providence College$87,054$48,523
4Salve Regina University$72,975$36,967
5Roger Williams University$70,266$37,999
6Roger Williams University School of Law$70,266-
7University of Rhode Island$69,743$21,440
8Rhode Island School of Design$68,140$50,507
9Rhode Island College$56,318$9,478
10New England Tractor Trailer Training School of Rhode Island$53,085$15,866
11New England Institute of Technology$48,684$36,483
12MotoRing Technical Training Institute$48,281$30,141

Costs & Financial Aid

Net price by family income at College Unbound

Average annual net price after grants; Title IV recipient cohort by income bracket

net price / yr

What this shows Need-based aid pulls net price down at lower brackets at College Unbound - compare the bar for your income band, not the overall average alone.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard As of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $11,016
Out-of-State Tuition $11,016
Average Net Price $21,108
68.6%
Pell Grant Rate
65.1%
Federal Loan Rate
$12,500
Median Debt
$133/mo
Monthly Payment

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

Programs & Earnings

No program-level earnings data available for this school.

Independent Scorecard matches among reporting colleges — not recommendations from the institution or a counselor.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does College Unbound cost?
The average net price at College Unbound is $21,108. In-state tuition is $11,016 and out-of-state tuition is $11,016. Median student debt at graduation is $12,500.

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from College Unbound

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.