Private Nonprofit · Scranton, Pennsylvania

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is a private nonprofit institution in Scranton, Pennsylvania. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

$23,384
Avg net price / yr
City: Small Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools & Centers"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

F
College Value Score
27/100
Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price F
$23,384
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt N/A
N/A
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

$23,384

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine vs peers

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 7 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine po… Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $26K $84K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $5K $34K Avg Net Price ($) Valley Forge Military College: $51K earn · $6K net · 95% grad Valley Forge Milit… UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing: $67K earn · $27K net · 45% grad UPMC St. Margaret … Heritage Valley Health System School of Nursing: $80K earn · $24K net · 56% grad Heritage Valley He… Lackawanna College: $41K earn · $20K net · 37% grad Lackawanna College Fortis Institute-Scranton: $30K earn · $20K net · 46% grad Fortis Institute-S… University of Scranton: $75K earn · $33K net · 80% grad University of Scra… Career Technology Center of Lackawanna County: $46K earn · $23K net · 67% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

88
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine ranks in Pennsylvania

State rank among 270 reporting Pennsylvania colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine State rank Percentile
Average net price $23,384 #174 of 264 34th (lower is better)
Undergraduate enrollment 88 #216 of 282 23rd

Highest former-student earnings in Pennsylvania

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine$138,767-
2Carnegie Mellon University$114,862$31,944
3University of Pennsylvania$111,371$28,699
4Lehigh University$105,584$36,931
5Villanova University$100,423$43,756
6Bucknell University$93,807$40,766
7Lafayette College$91,410$34,433
8Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia$86,881$29,689
9Saint Joseph's University - Lancaster$86,881$42,478
10Joseph F McCloskey School of Nursing$86,138-
11Drexel University$84,648$38,509
12Swarthmore College$80,257$23,149

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $15,886
Out-of-State Tuition $15,886
Average Net Price $23,384

Net Price by Family Income

$0 – $30,000 $23,173
Over $110,000 $23,595
30.2%
Pell Grant Rate
54.0%
Federal Loan Rate

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Doctoral 1 0 $116,849 $116,849 $273,352
Certificate 1 0 $84,739 $84,739 -
Master's 1 110 $50,630 $50,630 $67,017

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Medicine Doctoral - $116,849 $273,352
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Certificate - $84,739 -
Biology, General Master's 110 $50,630 $67,017

Independent Scorecard matches among reporting colleges — not recommendations from the institution or a counselor.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine cost?
The average net price at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine is $23,384. In-state tuition is $15,886 and out-of-state tuition is $15,886.

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.