Private For-Profit · Pasadena, California

Institute of Culinary Education

Institute of Culinary Education is a private for-profit institution in Pasadena, California. as a private for-profit, published Scorecard outcomes are Title-IV-recipient medians — program mix and repayment risk deserve a closer look than a single headline number.

$47,865
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

Institute of Culinary Education posts above-median former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 33%
former-student earnings, US
+31%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Midsize
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Institute of Culinary Education profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class, and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

B+
College Value Score
77/100
Institute of Culinary Education

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings C+
$47,865
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt A+
$6,439
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment A
79.5%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
Institute of Culinary Education vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$47,865

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Institute of Culinary Education vs peers

Institute of Culinary Education positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 7 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Institute of Culinary Education positioned by earnings vs cost COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $21K $49K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $20K $30K Avg Net Price ($) Milan Institute-Clovis: $25K earn · $23K net · 60% grad Milan Institute-Cl… Central Coast College: $41K earn · $27K net · 75% grad Central Coast Coll… Pima Medical Institute-Chula Vista: $39K earn · $29K net · 60% grad Pima Medical Insti… Platt College-Los Angeles: $41K earn · $28K net · 63% grad Platt College-Los … InterCoast Colleges-West Covina: $36K earn · $28K net · 92% grad InterCoast College… Paul Mitchell the School-Pasadena: $26K earn · $26K net · 58% grad Paul Mitchell the … Providence Christian College: $46K earn · $25K net · 36% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How Institute of Culinary Education ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

Institute of Culinary Education: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$47,865 Top 33% higher than 67% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). This entry sits in this band. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). Above this entry. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Above this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric Institute of Culinary Education National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $47,865 #1673 of 5103 67th
Undergraduate enrollment 553 #2761 of 5462 49th

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

553
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$47,865
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Institute of Culinary Education ranks in California

State rank among 493 reporting California colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Institute of Culinary Education State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $47,865 #179 of 493 64th
Undergraduate enrollment 553 #273 of 553 51st

Highest former-student earnings in California

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Samuel Merritt University$143,238-
2Harvey Mudd College$138,687$35,924
3California Institute of Technology$128,566$16,075
4Stanford University$124,080$13,807
5Los Angeles County College of Nursing and Allied Health$115,318-
6Gnomon$114,785$51,949
7Santa Clara University$109,183$50,062
8Jesuit School of Theology of Santa Clara University$109,183-
9Touro University California$104,805-
10Claremont McKenna College$104,736$28,849
11West Coast University-Anaheim-Orange County$102,672$32,879
12West Coast University-Ontario$102,672$49,590
179Institute of Culinary EducationThis school$47,865-

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

54.8%
Female
43.9%
First Generation

Outcomes

$36,663
Median Earnings (6yr)
79.5%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $36,663
Median earnings 10 years after entry $47,865
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 79.5%
Median federal student debt At completion $6,439
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $68/mo

Programs & Earnings

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Culinary Arts and Related Services Certificate 317 $46,893 $6,439

Scorecard-derived matches among reporting colleges — not school marketing or paid placement lists.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for Institute of Culinary Education?
Institute of Culinary Education is a private for-profit institution in Pasadena, California. Undergraduate enrollment is 553 students.
How much do Institute of Culinary Education former students earn?
Federally aided former students at Institute of Culinary Education who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $47,865 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $36,663.
Is Institute of Culinary Education worth the student debt?
The median student debt at Institute of Culinary Education is $6,439, while former students earn a median of $47,865 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 13% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 79.5% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $68.

Sources & methodology

Private for-profit profiles foreground Scorecard debt, repayment, and program-level earnings where reported. Marketing claims from the school are not inputs to this page.

Every figure is the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrieval. For-profit program mixes can shift year to year — treat institution medians as a starting map, then check Field-of-Study rows below. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Institute of Culinary Education

For-profit Scorecard figures are Title-IV cohort history — verify current program costs, accreditation, and repayment outcomes with the school and official aid tools.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private for-profit profiles compile Scorecard debt/earnings and IPEDS operating fields from federal files — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.