Private Nonprofit · Washington, District of Columbia

Institute of World Politics

Institute of World Politics is a private nonprofit institution in Washington, District of Columbia. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

City: Large Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Institute of World Politics profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Other Special Focus Institutions"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Institute of World Politics vs peers

Institute of World Politics positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 7 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Institute of World Politics positioned by ea… Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $34K $109K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $8K $53K Avg Net Price ($) George Washington University: $91K earn · $37K net · 85% grad George Washington … Howard University: $63K earn · $51K net · 69% grad Howard University Georgetown University: $103K earn · $41K net · 95% grad Georgetown Univers… American University: $77K earn · $42K net · 77% grad American University The Catholic University of America: $73K earn · $30K net · 80% grad The Catholic Unive… Trinity Washington University: $54K earn · $9K net · 47% grad Trinity Washington… Strayer University-Global Region: $40K earn · $18K net · 23% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

-
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Institute of World Politics ranks in District of Columbia

State rank among 17 reporting District of Columbia colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Institute of World Politics State rank Percentile

Highest former-student earnings in District of Columbia

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Georgetown University$103,494$40,815
2George Washington University$90,873$36,586
3American University$77,370$41,943
4The Catholic University of America$73,250$29,561
5Howard University$63,066$50,539
6Arizona State University - Washington D.C.$62,668-
7The Chicago School at Washington DC$56,899-
8Trinity Washington University$53,804$9,302
9Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Manassas$46,441$27,320
10University of the District of Columbia$44,236$10,648
11Gallaudet University$43,101$15,845
12ECPI University-Manassas$42,837-

Programs & Earnings

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
International Relations and National Security Studies Master's 31 $97,002 $60,843

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Institute of World Politics

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.