Private For-Profit · Gary, Indiana

Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College

Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College is a private for-profit institution in Gary, Indiana. as a private for-profit, published Scorecard outcomes are Title-IV-recipient medians — program mix and repayment risk deserve a closer look than a single headline number.

$16,011
Avg net price / yr
Suburb: Large
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class, and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

C-
College Value Score
51/100
Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price C-
$16,011
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt D
$14,302
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

$16,011

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College vs peers

Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 7 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College positioned by earnings vs cost COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $12K $46K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $3K $25K Avg Net Price ($) Taylor Institute of Cosmetology II: $14K earn · $4K net · 43% grad Taylor Institute o… Vincennes Beauty College: $20K earn · $11K net · 54% grad Vincennes Beauty C… PJ's College of Cosmetology-Richmond: $24K earn · $24K net · 53% grad PJ's College of Co… Indiana University-Northwest: $43K earn · $5K net · 37% grad Indiana University… Denmark College: $24K earn · $15K net · 77% grad Denmark College Stellar Career College-Crown Point: $30K earn · $18K net Stellar Career Col… Don Roberts School of Hair Design: $20K earn · $17K net · 78% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

40
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College ranks in Indiana

State rank among 126 reporting Indiana colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College State rank Percentile
Average net price $16,011 #27 of 96 72nd (lower is better)
Undergraduate enrollment 40 #95 of 100 5th

Highest former-student earnings in Indiana

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

Average Net Price $16,011

Net Price by Family Income

$0 – $30,000 $16,011
91.2%
Pell Grant Rate
86.0%
Federal Loan Rate
$14,302
Median Debt
$152/mo
Monthly Payment

What students pay at Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College rose +153.3% since 2013

Average net price for the reported Title IV-recipient cohort went from $7,904 in 2013 to $20,019 in 2023, a rise of $12,115 in nominal dollars. Across the 4,315 colleges measured over the same 2013–2023 span, the median change was +14.6%.

Average net price, 2013–2023

11 reported years. Nominal dollars, not adjusted for inflation.

2013: $7,9042014: $8,2142015: $17,8992016: $17,3512017: $12,2132018: $12,8092019: $18,5172020: $19,6922021: $24,5852022: $23,9692023: $20,019
2013 · $7,9042023 · $20,019

Over the same years, enrollment went -35.5% (62 → 40 students).

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, per-year fields (2013–2023). Net price is the average cost after grant and scholarship aid for federally-aided undergraduates.

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

52.2%
Female
66.7%
First Generation

Programs & Earnings

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services Certificate 25 $16,860 $15,579

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College cost?
The average net price at Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College is $16,011.. Median student debt at graduation is $14,302.

Sources & methodology

Private for-profit profiles foreground Scorecard debt, repayment, and program-level earnings where reported. Marketing claims from the school are not inputs to this page.

Every figure is the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrieval. For-profit program mixes can shift year to year — treat institution medians as a starting map, then check Field-of-Study rows below. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Lil Lou's Beauty and Barber College

For-profit Scorecard figures are Title-IV cohort history — verify current program costs, accreditation, and repayment outcomes with the school and official aid tools.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private for-profit profiles compile Scorecard debt/earnings and IPEDS operating fields from federal files — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.