Private Nonprofit · Purcellville, District of Columbia

Patrick Henry College

Patrick Henry College is a private nonprofit institution in Purcellville, District of Columbia. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

77.4%
Acceptance rate
70.6%
150%-time completion

The verdict

Patrick Henry College is a moderately open admit.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

77.4%
acceptance rate
70.6%
150%-time completion
Town: Fringe Carnegie: Bacc: A&S
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Patrick Henry College profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

B+
College Value Score
75/100
Patrick Henry College

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate B
70.6%
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt N/A
N/A
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention B+
87.5%
First-year students returning for year two
Patrick Henry College vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

70.6%

Full-time, first-time cohort

150%-time completion vs portal median (57.1%) 70.6%

Four-year-institution cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Patrick Henry College vs peers

Patrick Henry College positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 2 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Patrick Henry College positioned by earnings… Carnegie Classification: Bacc: A&S Bacc: A&S COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $38K $52K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $8K $12K Avg Net Price ($) American Public University System: $44K earn · $10K net · 55% grad American Public Un… Shepherd University: $49K earn · $11K net · 50% grad Shepherd University Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

395
Undergraduate enrollment
77.4%
Acceptance rate
1,352
SAT average
70.6%
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
87.5%
First-year retention

How Patrick Henry College ranks in District of Columbia

State rank among 17 reporting District of Columbia colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Patrick Henry College State rank Percentile
150%-time completion 70.6% #6 of 15 60th
Undergraduate enrollment 395 #11 of 19 42nd

Highest former-student earnings in District of Columbia

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Georgetown University$103,494$40,815
2George Washington University$90,873$36,586
3American University$77,370$41,943
4The Catholic University of America$73,250$29,561
5Howard University$63,066$50,539
6Arizona State University - Washington D.C.$62,668-
7The Chicago School at Washington DC$56,899-
8Trinity Washington University$53,804$9,302
9Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Manassas$46,441$27,320
10University of the District of Columbia$44,236$10,648
11Gallaudet University$43,101$15,845
12ECPI University-Manassas$42,837-

Admissions

Admission Rate 77.4%
SAT Average 1,352
SAT Math (25th-75th) 580 – 680
SAT Reading (25th-75th) 660 – 740
ACT Average 30
ACT (25th-75th) 27 – 33
0%100%77.4%
Share of applicants admitted

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $28,425
Out-of-State Tuition $28,425

Net Price by Family Income

0.0%
Pell Grant Rate
0.0%
Federal Loan Rate

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

White 62.8%
African American 1.8%
Hispanic or Latino 5.6%
Asian 5.8%
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.3%
Pacific Islander 1.0%

Student body at a glance

Outcomes

87.5%
Retention Rate

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Completion within 150% of normal time First-time, full-time 70.6%
First-year retention First-time, full-time freshmen 87.5%

Programs & Earnings

No program-level earnings data available for this school.

Independent Scorecard matches among reporting colleges — not recommendations from the institution or a counselor.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the acceptance rate at Patrick Henry College?
Patrick Henry College is a private nonprofit institution in Purcellville, District of Columbia. The acceptance rate is 77.4%. The average SAT score is 1,352. Undergraduate enrollment is 395 students.
What is the graduation rate at Patrick Henry College?
Patrick Henry College has a 70.6% completion rate within 150% of normal time at a four-year institution (typically six years for a bachelor’s program). The first-year retention rate is 87.5%.

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Patrick Henry College

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.