Private Nonprofit · Selma, Alabama

Selma University

Selma University is a private nonprofit institution in Selma, Alabama. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

15.0%
150%-time completion
Town: Distant
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Selma University profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class, and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

F
College Value Score
12/100
Selma University

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate F
15.0%
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt N/A
N/A
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention F
66.7%
First-year students returning for year two
Selma University vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

15.0%

Full-time, first-time cohort

150%-time completion vs portal median (57.1%) 15.0%

Four-year-institution cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Selma University vs peers

Selma University positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 3 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Selma University positioned by earnings vs cost COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $27K $63K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $7K $16K Avg Net Price ($) Heritage Christian University: $43K earn · $15K net Heritage Christian… George C Wallace State Community College-Selma: $32K earn · $9K net · 40% grad George C Wallace S… Marion Military Institute: $60K earn · $9K net · 33% grad Marion Military In… Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

32
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
15.0%
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
66.7%
First-year retention

How Selma University ranks in Alabama

State rank among 69 reporting Alabama colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Selma University State rank Percentile
150%-time completion 15.0% #63 of 65 3rd
Undergraduate enrollment 32 #72 of 73 1st

Highest former-student earnings in Alabama

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Jersey College - Dothan$66,087-
2Auburn University$65,337$24,323
3Columbia Southern University$63,534$14,580
4University of Alabama in Huntsville$61,767$18,796
5Marion Military Institute$59,644$8,627
6The University of Alabama$59,221$22,420
7Samford University$58,469$32,622
8United States Sports University$55,257$24,076
9University of Alabama at Birmingham$54,501$18,749
10Cardiac and Vascular Institute of Ultrasound$52,669-
11Spring Hill College$51,500$20,449
12Athens State University$50,273-

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $4,800
Out-of-State Tuition $4,800

Net Price by Family Income

0.0%
Pell Grant Rate
0.0%
Federal Loan Rate

Net price at Selma University swings rather than trends

Across 7 reported years between 2013 and 2019, the average net price here has ranged from $4,455 to $13,037 without settling into a rise or a fall. Comparing only the first and last years would read as +9.5%, but the years in between do not follow that line, so the honest summary is the range rather than a trend. Budget against the upper end, not the average.

Lowest year
$4,455
Highest year
$13,037
Most recent (2019)
$9,229
Average net price, 2013–2019

7 reported years. Nominal dollars, not adjusted for inflation.

2013: $8,4272014: $9,4592015: $12,1202016: $4,4552017: $12,2372018: $13,0372019: $9,229
2013 · $8,4272019 · $9,229

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, per-year fields (2013–2019). Net price is the average cost after grant and scholarship aid for federally-aided undergraduates.

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

52.2%
Female
61.9%
First Generation

Outcomes

66.7%
Retention Rate

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Completion within 150% of normal time First-time, full-time 15.0%
First-year retention First-time, full-time freshmen 66.7%

Programs & Earnings

No program-level earnings data available for this school.

Independent Scorecard matches among reporting colleges — not recommendations from the institution or a counselor.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the graduation rate at Selma University?
Selma University has a 15.0% completion rate within 150% of normal time at a four-year institution (typically six years for a bachelor’s program). The first-year retention rate is 66.7%.

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Selma University

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.