Public · Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Southern University Law Center

Southern University Law Center is a public institution in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.

$43,371
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

Southern University Law Center posts above-median former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 43%
former-student earnings, US
+31%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Midsize Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Southern University Law Center profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Law Schools"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

F
College Value Score
36/100
Southern University Law Center

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings C
$43,371
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt F
$29,251
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment C+
65.2%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention F
60.5%
First-year students returning for year two
Southern University Law Center vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$43,371

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Southern University Law Center vs peers

Southern University Law Center positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 7 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Southern University Law Center positioned by… Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $25K $64K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $5K $21K Avg Net Price ($) Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College: $33K earn · $9K net · 75% grad Northwest Louisian… Southern University at New Orleans: $34K earn · $15K net · 16% grad Southern Universit… Central Louisiana Technical Community College: $30K earn · $6K net · 72% grad Central Louisiana … Southern University and A & M College: $43K earn · $20K net · 28% grad Southern Universit… Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College: $61K earn · $19K net · 70% grad Louisiana State Un… Baton Rouge Community College: $35K earn · $9K net · 29% grad Baton Rouge Commun… Delta College of Arts & Technology: $34K earn · $20K net · 56% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How Southern University Law Center ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

Southern University Law Center: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$43,371 Top 43% higher than 57% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). This entry sits in this band. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). Above this entry. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Above this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric Southern University Law Center National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $43,371 #2185 of 5103 57th
Undergraduate enrollment 607 #2674 of 5462 51st

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

607
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$43,371
10-yr median earnings
60.5%
First-year retention

How Southern University Law Center ranks in Louisiana

State rank among 94 reporting Louisiana colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Southern University Law Center State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $43,371 #29 of 94 69th
Undergraduate enrollment 607 #40 of 104 62nd

Highest former-student earnings in Louisiana

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

63.7%
Female
39.7%
First Generation

Outcomes

60.5%
Retention Rate
$33,033
Median Earnings (6yr)
51.4%
Earning Over $25K
65.2%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
First-year retention First-time, full-time freshmen 60.5%
Median earnings 6 years after entry $33,033
Median earnings 10 years after entry $43,371
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 51.4%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 65.2%
Median federal student debt At completion $29,251
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $310/mo

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Bachelor's 20 96 $55,153 $92,969 $29,868
Master's 9 22 $69,928 $120,049 $47,762
First Professional 1 32 $67,462 $67,462 $118,010

Top programs at Southern University Law Center by completer earnings

Median earnings of program completers, College Scorecard field-of-study file

median earnings

What this shows The highest-earning programs at a school are not necessarily its most popular ones - a small specialized program can post strong median earnings without reflecting the outcome most students here actually see.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard As of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's 3 $120,049 $41,000
Mechanical Engineering Bachelor's 4 $92,969 $28,437
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's 18 $86,838 $31,000
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's 7 $73,081 $49,378
Civil Engineering Bachelor's 1 $68,016 $31,125
Law First Professional 32 $67,462 $118,010
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services Master's 2 $64,924 $47,498
Computer Science Bachelor's 4 $58,951 $28,750
Criminal Justice and Corrections Master's 2 $56,111 $36,250
Marketing Bachelor's 2 $56,097 $27,000
Public Administration Master's 5 $55,482 $45,137
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's 3 $53,159 $25,250
Social Work Bachelor's 5 $52,217 $30,000
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services Bachelor's 1 $51,611 $35,124
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's 3 $50,616 $36,603

Matches use Scorecard measures among reporting colleges — not state-system recommendations or geographic proximity.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for Southern University Law Center?
Southern University Law Center is a public institution in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Undergraduate enrollment is 607 students.
How much do Southern University Law Center former students earn?
Federally aided former students at Southern University Law Center who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $43,371 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $33,033.
Is Southern University Law Center worth the student debt?
The median student debt at Southern University Law Center is $29,251, while former students earn a median of $43,371 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 67% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 65.2% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $310.

Sources & methodology

Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.

Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Southern University Law Center

Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.