Private For-Profit · Birmingham, Alabama

Strayer University-Alabama

Strayer University-Alabama is a private for-profit institution in Birmingham, Alabama. as a private for-profit, published Scorecard outcomes are Title-IV-recipient medians — program mix and repayment risk deserve a closer look than a single headline number.

$40,092
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

Strayer University-Alabama posts modest former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

48th pct.
former-student earnings, US
+10%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Midsize Carnegie: Master's (S)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Strayer University-Alabama profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Master's Colleges & Universities: Small Programs"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

F
College Value Score
28/100
Strayer University-Alabama

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings D
$40,092
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt F
$40,621
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment F
42.4%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
Strayer University-Alabama vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$40,092

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Strayer University-Alabama vs peers

Strayer University-Alabama positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Strayer University-Alabama positioned by ear… Carnegie Classification: Master's (S) Master's (… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $23K $61K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $16K $34K Avg Net Price ($) Fortis Institute-Birmingham: $33K earn · $26K net · 35% grad Fortis Institute-B… Fortis College-Montgomery: $27K earn · $21K net · 42% grad Fortis College-Mon… Fortis College: $27K earn · $19K net · 47% grad Fortis College South University-Montgomery: $34K earn · $28K net · 11% grad South University-M… Fortis College-Dothan: $33K earn · $19K net · 58% grad Fortis College-Dot… Ross Medical Education Center-Huntsville: $30K earn · $19K net · 55% grad Ross Medical Educa… University of Alabama at Birmingham: $55K earn · $19K net · 63% grad Samford University: $58K earn · $33K net · 78% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How Strayer University-Alabama ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

Strayer University-Alabama: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$40,092 48th percentile higher than 48% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). This entry sits in this band. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). Above this entry. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Above this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric Strayer University-Alabama National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $40,092 #2675 of 5103 48th
Undergraduate enrollment 1,196 #2000 of 5462 63rd

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

1,196
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$40,092
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Strayer University-Alabama ranks in Alabama

State rank among 69 reporting Alabama colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Strayer University-Alabama State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $40,092 #34 of 69 51st
Undergraduate enrollment 1,196 #37 of 73 49th

Highest former-student earnings in Alabama

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Jersey College - Dothan$66,087-
2Auburn University$65,337$24,323
3Columbia Southern University$63,534$14,580
4University of Alabama in Huntsville$61,767$18,796
5Marion Military Institute$59,644$8,627
6The University of Alabama$59,221$22,420
7Samford University$58,469$32,622
8United States Sports University$55,257$24,076
9University of Alabama at Birmingham$54,501$18,749
10Cardiac and Vascular Institute of Ultrasound$52,669-
11Spring Hill College$51,500$20,449
12Athens State University$50,273-
34Strayer University-AlabamaThis school$40,092-

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $13,920
Out-of-State Tuition $13,920

Net Price by Family Income

85.2%
Pell Grant Rate
91.0%
Federal Loan Rate
$40,621
Median Debt
$431/mo
Monthly Payment

Strayer University-Alabama costs less today than it did in 2013

Average net price fell from $29,771 to $22,923 (-23.0%) between 2013 and 2023, before any inflation adjustment, which makes the real-terms fall larger still. Most colleges moved the other way: the median change across the 4,315 schools measured over the same span was +14.6%.

Average net price, 2013–2023

9 reported years (years the source did not report are left as gaps). Nominal dollars, not adjusted for inflation.

2013: $29,7712014: $31,4992015: $28,9792017: $24,8362018: $22,4522019: $24,5932020: $23,3792021: $21,3392023: $22,923
2013 · $29,7712023 · $22,923

Over the same years, enrollment went +278.7% (389 → 1,473 students).

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, per-year fields (2013–2023). Net price is the average cost after grant and scholarship aid for federally-aided undergraduates.

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

75.1%
Female
53.7%
First Generation

Outcomes

$36,582
Median Earnings (6yr)
66.7%
Earning Over $25K
42.4%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $36,582
Median earnings 10 years after entry $40,092
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 66.7%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 42.4%
Median federal student debt At completion $40,621
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $431/mo

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Master's 8 68 $73,728 $98,401 $78,698
Bachelor's 6 104 $70,751 $87,413 $40,812
Associate's 5 43 $58,474 $61,319 $30,330
Graduate Certificate 1 0 - - -

Top programs at Strayer University-Alabama by completer earnings

Median earnings of program completers, College Scorecard field-of-study file

median earnings

What this shows The highest-earning programs at a school are not necessarily its most popular ones - a small specialized program can post strong median earnings without reflecting the outcome most students here actually see.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard As of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Information Science/Studies Master's 3 $98,401 $74,156
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management Master's 1 $96,961 $75,331
Information Science/Studies Bachelor's 4 $87,413 $40,250
Computer and Information Sciences, General Bachelor's 10 $82,304 $37,500
Accounting and Related Services Master's 5 $77,493 $80,164
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's 29 $76,080 $75,005
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's 4 $66,108 $41,625
Business/Commerce, General Bachelor's 79 $64,016 $43,122
Human Resources Management and Services Master's 8 $63,742 $80,998
Public Administration Master's 10 $62,227 $81,723
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management Associate's 8 $61,319 $28,519
Business/Commerce, General Associate's 34 $59,021 $32,140
Health and Medical Administrative Services Master's 4 $58,850 $81,207
Educational Administration and Supervision Master's 8 $56,068 $81,000
Accounting and Related Services Associate's 1 $55,081 -

Scorecard-derived matches among reporting colleges — not school marketing or paid placement lists.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for Strayer University-Alabama?
Strayer University-Alabama is a private for-profit institution in Birmingham, Alabama. Undergraduate enrollment is 1,196 students.
How much do Strayer University-Alabama former students earn?
Federally aided former students at Strayer University-Alabama who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $40,092 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $36,582.
Is Strayer University-Alabama worth the student debt?
The median student debt at Strayer University-Alabama is $40,621, while former students earn a median of $40,092 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 101% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 42.4% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $431.

Sources & methodology

Private for-profit profiles foreground Scorecard debt, repayment, and program-level earnings where reported. Marketing claims from the school are not inputs to this page.

Every figure is the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrieval. For-profit program mixes can shift year to year — treat institution medians as a starting map, then check Field-of-Study rows below. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Strayer University-Alabama

For-profit Scorecard figures are Title-IV cohort history — verify current program costs, accreditation, and repayment outcomes with the school and official aid tools.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private for-profit profiles compile Scorecard debt/earnings and IPEDS operating fields from federal files — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.