Public · Trenton, New Jersey

Thomas Edison State University

Thomas Edison State University is a public institution in Trenton, New Jersey. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.

$69,331
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

Thomas Edison State University posts top-10% former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 8%
former-student earnings, US
+6%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Small Carnegie: Master's (M)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Thomas Edison State University profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Master's Colleges & Universities: Medium Programs"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

B
College Value Score
74/100
Thomas Edison State University

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings A+
$69,331
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt C
$12,500
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment C
61.7%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
Thomas Edison State University vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$69,331

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Thomas Edison State University vs peers

Thomas Edison State University positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 7 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Thomas Edison State University positioned by… Carnegie Classification: Master's (M) Master's (… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $29K $77K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $5K $29K Avg Net Price ($) Camden County College: $41K earn · $6K net · 32% grad Camden County Coll… Hudson County Community College: $34K earn · $7K net · 24% grad Hudson County Comm… William Paterson University of New Jersey: $58K earn · $19K net · 46% grad William Paterson U… The College of New Jersey: $73K earn · $28K net · 86% grad The College of New Rowan College at Burlington County: $45K earn · $5K net · 37% grad Rowan College at B… Stockton University: $58K earn · $21K net · 70% grad Stockton University Rider University: $62K earn · $25K net · 62% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How Thomas Edison State University ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

Thomas Edison State University: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$69,331 Top 8% higher than 92% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). Below this entry. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). This entry sits in this band. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Above this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric Thomas Edison State University National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $69,331 #393 of 5103 92nd
Undergraduate enrollment 6,707 #558 of 5462 90th

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

6,707
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$69,331
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Thomas Edison State University ranks in New Jersey

State rank among 110 reporting New Jersey colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Thomas Edison State University State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $69,331 #14 of 110 87th
Undergraduate enrollment 6,707 #13 of 144 91st

Highest former-student earnings in New Jersey

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Princeton University$110,066$6,128
2Stevens Institute of Technology$108,772$41,346
3Chamberlain University-New Jersey$92,405$37,984
4Holy Name Medical Center-Sister Claire Tynan School of Nursing$87,408-
5New Jersey Institute of Technology$84,276$16,504
6Yeshivas Be'er Yitzchok$82,560$28,599
7Rutgers University-New Brunswick$74,479$24,406
8Rutgers University-Newark$74,479$19,703
9Rutgers University-Camden$74,479$18,745
10Aviation Institute of Maintenance-Teterboro$73,971$24,800
11JFK Muhlenberg Harold B. and Dorothy A. Snyder Schools$73,894$40,644
12The College of New Jersey$73,323$27,646
14Thomas Edison State UniversityThis school$69,331-

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $6,838
Out-of-State Tuition $8,856

Net Price by Family Income

23.7%
Pell Grant Rate
24.2%
Federal Loan Rate
$12,500
Median Debt
$133/mo
Monthly Payment

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

50.3%
Female
44.5%
First Generation

Outcomes

$65,570
Median Earnings (6yr)
74.7%
Earning Over $25K
61.7%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $65,570
Median earnings 10 years after entry $69,331
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 74.7%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 61.7%
Median federal student debt At completion $12,500
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $133/mo

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Bachelor's 12 1,567 $83,666 $109,395 $13,162
Associate's 7 383 $69,350 $83,807 $15,634
Master's 4 131 $111,932 $118,257 $27,768

Top programs at Thomas Edison State University by completer earnings

Median earnings of program completers, College Scorecard field-of-study file

median earnings

What this shows The highest-earning programs at a school are not necessarily its most popular ones - a small specialized program can post strong median earnings without reflecting the outcome most students here actually see.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard As of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's 29 $118,257 -
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Master's 18 $112,339 -
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's 66 $111,672 $27,768
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Bachelor's 440 $109,395 $11,812
Educational Administration and Supervision Master's 18 $105,461 -
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's 163 $104,672 $15,000
Biological and Physical Sciences Bachelor's 82 $90,507 $10,950
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's 189 $89,947 $14,238
Military Technologies and Applied Sciences, Other Associate's 37 $83,807 -
Accounting and Related Services Bachelor's 37 $82,029 -
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other Bachelor's 35 $78,651 -
Human Resources Management and Services Bachelor's 20 $78,576 -
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other Bachelor's 30 $75,097 -
Mechanic and Repair Technologies/Technicians, Other Associate's 38 $71,572 -
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other Associate's 86 $71,291 -

Matches use Scorecard measures among reporting colleges — not state-system recommendations or geographic proximity.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for Thomas Edison State University?
Thomas Edison State University is a public institution in Trenton, New Jersey. Undergraduate enrollment is 6,707 students.
How much do Thomas Edison State University former students earn?
Federally aided former students at Thomas Edison State University who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $69,331 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $65,570.
Is Thomas Edison State University worth the student debt?
The median student debt at Thomas Edison State University is $12,500, while former students earn a median of $69,331 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 18% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 61.7% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $133.

Sources & methodology

Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.

Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Thomas Edison State University

Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.