Public · USAF Academy, Colorado

United States Air Force Academy

United States Air Force Academy is a public institution in USAF Academy, Colorado. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.

87.8%
150%-time completion
14.1%
Acceptance rate

The verdict

United States Air Force Academy is a very selective admit.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

14.1%
acceptance rate
87.8%
150%-time completion
Rural: Fringe Carnegie: Bacc: Diverse
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this United States Air Force Academy profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

A+
College Value Score
93/100
United States Air Force Academy

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate A+
87.8%
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt N/A
N/A
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention A+
96.5%
First-year students returning for year two
United States Air Force Academy vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

87.8%

Full-time, first-time cohort

150%-time completion vs portal median (57.1%) 87.8%

Four-year-institution cohort

College ROI Quadrant - United States Air Force Academy vs peers

United States Air Force Academy positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. United States Air Force Academy positioned b… Carnegie Classification: Bacc: Diverse Bacc: Dive… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $32K $49K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $7K $28K Avg Net Price ($) Aims Community College: $42K earn · $11K net · 37% grad Aims Community Col… Pueblo Community College: $37K earn · $12K net · 34% grad Pueblo Community C… Red Rocks Community College: $46K earn · $9K net · 35% grad Red Rocks Communit… Community College of Aurora: $45K earn · $9K net · 31% grad Community College … Community College of Denver: $39K earn · $9K net · 18% grad Community College … Fort Lewis College: $46K earn · $17K net · 39% grad Fort Lewis College Colorado Technical University-Colorado Springs: $37K earn · $17K net · 18% grad Pima Medical Institute-Colorado Springs: $39K earn · $27K net · 67% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

4,114
Undergraduate enrollment
14.1%
Acceptance rate
1,350
SAT average
87.8%
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
96.5%
First-year retention

How United States Air Force Academy ranks in Colorado

State rank among 69 reporting Colorado colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric United States Air Force Academy State rank Percentile
150%-time completion 87.8% #3 of 65 95th
Undergraduate enrollment 4,114 #20 of 75 73rd

Highest former-student earnings in Colorado

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Colorado School of Mines$97,335$28,690
2Denver College of Nursing$81,809-
3Colorado State University Global$76,813$16,510
4Regis University$72,105$18,397
5University of Denver$71,155$36,131
6University of Colorado Boulder$69,738$25,346
7Colorado College$65,222$33,375
8University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus$64,270$11,900
9Galen Health Institutes-Aurora$61,480-
10Colorado State University-Fort Collins$60,543$21,279
11Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology$59,093$30,065
12Colorado State University Pueblo$55,563$10,051

Admissions

Admission Rate 14.1%
SAT Average 1,350
SAT Math (25th-75th) 610 – 730
SAT Reading (25th-75th) 620 – 710
ACT Average 32
ACT (25th-75th) 26 – 33
0%100%14.1%
Share of applicants admitted

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

Outcomes

96.5%
Retention Rate

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Completion within 150% of normal time First-time, full-time 87.8%
First-year retention First-time, full-time freshmen 96.5%

Programs & Earnings

No program-level earnings data available for this school.

Matches use Scorecard measures among reporting colleges — not state-system recommendations or geographic proximity.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the acceptance rate at United States Air Force Academy?
United States Air Force Academy is a public institution in USAF Academy, Colorado. The acceptance rate is 14.1%. The average SAT score is 1,350. Undergraduate enrollment is 4,114 students.
What is the graduation rate at United States Air Force Academy?
United States Air Force Academy has a 87.8% completion rate within 150% of normal time at a four-year institution (typically six years for a bachelor’s program). The first-year retention rate is 96.5%.

Sources & methodology

Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.

Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from United States Air Force Academy

Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.