Public · Annapolis, Maryland

United States Naval Academy

United States Naval Academy is a public institution in Annapolis, Maryland. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.

92.4%
150%-time completion
9.3%
Acceptance rate

The verdict

United States Naval Academy is a highly selective admit.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

9.3%
acceptance rate
92.4%
150%-time completion
Suburb: Large Carnegie: Bacc: A&S
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this United States Naval Academy profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

A+
College Value Score
96/100
United States Naval Academy

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate A+
92.4%
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt N/A
N/A
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention A+
97.3%
First-year students returning for year two
United States Naval Academy vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

92.4%

Full-time, first-time cohort

150%-time completion vs portal median (57.1%) 92.4%

Four-year-institution cohort

College ROI Quadrant - United States Naval Academy vs peers

United States Naval Academy positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. United States Naval Academy positioned by ea… Carnegie Classification: Bacc: A&S Bacc: A&S COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $24K $57K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $6K $48K Avg Net Price ($) College of Southern Maryland: $44K earn · $9K net · 33% grad College of Souther… Frederick Community College: $46K earn · $9K net · 36% grad Frederick Communit… Bowie State University: $55K earn · $19K net · 38% grad Bowie State Univer… Baltimore City Community College: $36K earn · $16K net · 14% grad Baltimore City Com… Harford Community College: $45K earn · $9K net · 39% grad Harford Community … Hagerstown Community College: $42K earn · $7K net · 38% grad Hagerstown Communi… St. John's College: $52K earn · $46K net · 69% grad The Temple Annapolis-A Paul Mitchell Partner School: $28K earn · $32K net · 66% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

4,474
Undergraduate enrollment
9.3%
Acceptance rate
1,307
SAT average
92.4%
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
97.3%
First-year retention

How United States Naval Academy ranks in Maryland

State rank among 66 reporting Maryland colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric United States Naval Academy State rank Percentile
150%-time completion 92.4% #5 of 67 93rd
Undergraduate enrollment 4,474 #15 of 74 80th

Highest former-student earnings in Maryland

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1University of Maryland Baltimore$88,174-
2Johns Hopkins University$87,555$18,809
3Capitol Technology University$85,035$22,102
4University of Maryland-College Park$82,860$15,678
5Loyola University Maryland$82,652$30,574
6University of Maryland-Baltimore County$69,960$16,467
7Ner Israel Rabbinical College$66,330$13,572
8Washington College$65,518$27,898
9Notre Dame of Maryland University$65,344$19,169
10University of Maryland Global Campus$65,287$22,063
11Towson University$64,390$17,413
12Washington Adventist University$64,249$18,526

Admissions

Admission Rate 9.3%
SAT Average 1,307
SAT Math (25th-75th) 600 – 710
SAT Reading (25th-75th) 610 – 700
ACT Average 29
ACT (25th-75th) 25 – 31
0%100%9.3%
Share of applicants admitted

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

Outcomes

97.3%
Retention Rate

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Completion within 150% of normal time First-time, full-time 92.4%
First-year retention First-time, full-time freshmen 97.3%

Programs & Earnings

No program-level earnings data available for this school.

Matches use Scorecard measures among reporting colleges — not state-system recommendations or geographic proximity.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the acceptance rate at United States Naval Academy?
United States Naval Academy is a public institution in Annapolis, Maryland. The acceptance rate is 9.3%. The average SAT score is 1,307. Undergraduate enrollment is 4,474 students.
What is the graduation rate at United States Naval Academy?
United States Naval Academy has a 92.4% completion rate within 150% of normal time at a four-year institution (typically six years for a bachelor’s program). The first-year retention rate is 97.3%.

Sources & methodology

Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.

Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from United States Naval Academy

Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.