Private Nonprofit · Portland, Oregon

Western Seminary

Western Seminary is a private nonprofit institution in Portland, Oregon. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

City: Large Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Western Seminary profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Western Seminary vs peers

Western Seminary positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Western Seminary positioned by earnings vs c… Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $47K $87K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $21K $38K Avg Net Price ($) University of Portland: $83K earn · $28K net · 80% grad University of Port… George Fox University: $60K earn · $32K net · 70% grad George Fox Univers… Lewis & Clark College: $62K earn · $36K net · 73% grad Lewis & Clark Coll… Linfield University: $79K earn · $27K net · 68% grad Linfield University Willamette University: $57K earn · $25K net · 72% grad Willamette Univers… Pacific University: $61K earn · $35K net · 66% grad Pacific University Warner Pacific University: $55K earn · $26K net · 66% grad Reed College: $63K earn · $33K net · 74% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

-
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Western Seminary ranks in Oregon

State rank among 59 reporting Oregon colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Western Seminary State rank Percentile

Highest former-student earnings in Oregon

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Oregon Health & Science University$101,028-
2University of Portland$82,804$28,210
3Linfield University$78,638$26,536
4Oregon Institute of Technology$72,273$15,706
5Oregon State University$64,010$19,604
6Oregon State University-Cascades Campus$64,010$18,048
7Reed College$62,927$33,013
8Lewis & Clark College$62,205$36,013
9University of Oregon$61,324$22,182
10Pacific University$60,583$35,273
11George Fox University$59,761$31,679
12Portland State University$57,906$9,552

Programs & Earnings

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Theological and Ministerial Studies Master's 122 $61,070 $16,100
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions Master's 30 $53,660 $40,000

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Western Seminary

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.