Public · Charleston, South Carolina

Medical University of South Carolina

Medical University of South Carolina is a public institution in Charleston, South Carolina. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.

$88,420
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

Medical University of South Carolina posts top-5% former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 2%
former-student earnings, US
+14%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Midsize Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Medical University of South Carolina profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Research Institution"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

A-
College Value Score
83/100
Medical University of South Carolina

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings A+
$88,420
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt D
$15,000
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment A+
90.0%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
Medical University of South Carolina vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$88,420

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Medical University of South Carolina vs peers

Medical University of South Carolina positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Medical University of South Carolina positio… Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $22K $76K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $7K $22K Avg Net Price ($) University of South Carolina-Salkehatchie: $31K earn · $9K net · 25% grad University of Sout… University of South Carolina-Union: $34K earn · $8K net · 43% grad University of Sout… Williamsburg Technical College: $30K earn · $10K net · 18% grad Williamsburg Techn… Denmark Technical College: $25K earn · $19K net · 13% grad Denmark Technical … Academy for Careers and Technology: $47K earn · $9K net · 56% grad Academy for Career… University of South Carolina-Lancaster: $39K earn · $10K net · 27% grad University of Sout… College of Charleston: $56K earn · $19K net · 65% grad Citadel Military College of South Carolina: $72K earn · $21K net · 74% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How Medical University of South Carolina ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

Medical University of South Carolina: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$88,420 Top 2% higher than 98% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). Below this entry. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). Below this entry. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). This entry sits in this band. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric Medical University of South Carolina National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $88,420 #115 of 5103 98th
Undergraduate enrollment 303 #3283 of 5462 40th

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

303
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$88,420
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Medical University of South Carolina ranks in South Carolina

State rank among 78 reporting South Carolina colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Medical University of South Carolina State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $88,420 #1 of 78 99th
Undergraduate enrollment 303 #57 of 83 31st

Highest former-student earnings in South Carolina

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Medical University of South CarolinaThis school$88,420-
2Citadel Military College of South Carolina$72,085$20,723
3Clemson University$71,513$22,253
4Wofford College$68,964$18,732
5Furman University$68,635$30,308
6University of South Carolina-Columbia$62,177$22,811
7Galen Health Institutes-Myrtle Beach$61,480$25,662
8Presbyterian College$60,194$20,528
9College of Charleston$56,416$18,960
10Erskine College$53,459$16,525
11University of South Carolina-Upstate$48,587$13,557
12University of South Carolina Beaufort$48,088$14,656

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

70.2%
Female
18.8%
First Generation

Outcomes

$77,677
Median Earnings (6yr)
91.2%
Earning Over $25K
90.0%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $77,677
Median earnings 10 years after entry $88,420
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 91.2%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 90.0%
Median federal student debt At completion $15,000
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $159/mo

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Master's 6 282 $120,864 $187,865 $99,774
First Professional 3 299 $135,171 $172,695 $248,301
Doctoral 3 229 $108,626 $136,922 $115,909
Bachelor's 2 182 $78,576 $78,576 $15,000

Top programs at Medical University of South Carolina by completer earnings

Median earnings of program completers, College Scorecard field-of-study file

median earnings

What this shows The highest-earning programs at a school are not necessarily its most popular ones - a small specialized program can post strong median earnings without reflecting the outcome most students here actually see.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard As of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's 61 $187,865 $103,353
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Master's 116 $180,400 $125,779
Dentistry First Professional 76 $172,695 $357,444
Health and Medical Administrative Services Doctoral 20 $136,922 $123,122
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration First Professional 70 $135,953 $172,807
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Doctoral 89 $110,118 $91,247
Medicine First Professional 153 $96,864 $214,651
Health and Medical Administrative Services Master's 58 $88,321 $70,167
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions Doctoral 120 $78,839 $133,357
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's 182 $78,576 $15,000
Medical Illustration and Informatics Master's 18 $77,660 -
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions Master's 0 $70,076 $99,796
Biology, General Master's 29 - -
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Bachelor's - - -

Matches use Scorecard measures among reporting colleges — not state-system recommendations or geographic proximity.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for Medical University of South Carolina?
Medical University of South Carolina is a public institution in Charleston, South Carolina. Undergraduate enrollment is 303 students.
How much do Medical University of South Carolina former students earn?
Federally aided former students at Medical University of South Carolina who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $88,420 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $77,677.
Is Medical University of South Carolina worth the student debt?
The median student debt at Medical University of South Carolina is $15,000, while former students earn a median of $88,420 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 17% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 90.0% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $159.

Sources & methodology

Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.

Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Medical University of South Carolina

Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.