Public · Brooklyn, New York

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University is a public institution in Brooklyn, New York. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.

$109,601
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University posts top-1% former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 1%
former-student earnings, US
-1%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Large Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools & Centers"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

A-
College Value Score
83/100
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings A+
$109,601
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt C
$12,500
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$109,601

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University vs peers

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University po… Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $15K $67K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $9K $42K Avg Net Price ($) Eastern Suffolk BOCES: $63K earn · $25K net · 76% grad Eastern Suffolk BO… Onondaga Cortland Madison BOCES: $41K earn · $19K net · 77% grad Onondaga Cortland … Erie 1 BOCES: $47K earn · $13K net · 89% grad Erie 1 BOCES Veeb Nassau County School of Practical Nursing: $62K earn · $40K net · 60% grad Veeb Nassau County… Albany BOCES-Adult Practical Nursing Program: $48K earn · $24K net · 73% grad Albany BOCES-Adult… Associated Beth Rivkah Schools: $18K earn · $23K net · 76% grad Associated Beth Ri… Talmudical Seminary Oholei Torah: $39K earn · $11K net · 17% grad Central Yeshiva Tomchei Tmimim Lubavitz: $35K earn · $21K net · 4% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$109,601 Top 1% higher than all other reporting US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). Below this entry. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). Below this entry. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). This entry sits in this band. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $109,601 #20 of 5103 100th
Undergraduate enrollment 293 #3305 of 5462 39th

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

293
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$109,601
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University ranks in New York

State rank among 299 reporting New York colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $109,601 #3 of 299 99th
Undergraduate enrollment 293 #211 of 367 43rd

Highest former-student earnings in New York

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences$131,426$29,882
2Helene Fuld College of Nursing$111,027$47,181
3SUNY Downstate Health Sciences UniversityThis school$109,601-
4Center for Allied Health Education$107,249$48,150
5Miami Ad School-New York$106,192-
6St Paul's School of Nursing-Queens$104,403$26,315
7Cornell University$104,043$28,690
8Weill Medical College of Cornell University$104,043-
9Columbia University in the City of New York$102,491$21,590
10Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute$102,051$36,228
11Cochran School of Nursing$99,503-
12Mount Sinai Phillips School of Nursing$96,980-

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

79.7%
Female
37.9%
First Generation

Outcomes

$110,661
Median Earnings (6yr)
93.6%
Earning Over $25K

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $110,661
Median earnings 10 years after entry $109,601
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 93.6%
Median federal student debt At completion $12,500
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $133/mo

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Master's 5 287 $108,180 $142,553 $52,069
Bachelor's 3 131 $104,885 $114,061 $17,685
Doctoral 2 0 $102,323 $102,323 $196,615

Top programs at SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University by completer earnings

Median earnings of program completers, College Scorecard field-of-study file

median earnings

What this shows The highest-earning programs at a school are not necessarily its most popular ones - a small specialized program can post strong median earnings without reflecting the outcome most students here actually see.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard As of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's 136 $142,553 $26,425
Health and Medical Administrative Services Master's - $122,446 -
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Bachelor's 14 $114,061 $22,869
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's 117 $108,786 $12,500
Medicine Doctoral - $102,323 $196,615
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions Bachelor's - $91,809 -
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions Master's 32 $84,040 $66,000
Public Health Master's 70 $83,681 $28,187
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions Master's 49 - $87,663
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions Doctoral - - -

Matches use Scorecard measures among reporting colleges — not state-system recommendations or geographic proximity.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University?
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University is a public institution in Brooklyn, New York. Undergraduate enrollment is 293 students.
How much do SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University former students earn?
Federally aided former students at SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $109,601 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $110,661.
Is SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University worth the student debt?
The median student debt at SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University is $12,500, while former students earn a median of $109,601 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 11% of those annual earnings. Estimated monthly loan payment is $133.

Sources & methodology

Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.

Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.