10-yr median earnings
$92,257
Federal aid recipients only
Public · Syracuse, New York
Upstate Medical University is a public institution in Syracuse, New York. as a public institution, published Scorecard outcomes are the federal Title-IV cohort view of former students — not every graduate and not a guarantee for any one enrollee.
The verdict
Upstate Medical University posts top-5% former-student earnings.
According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.
Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.
Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools & Centers"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.
Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.
Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.
A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.
Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.
10-yr median earnings
$92,257
Federal aid recipients only
Avg net price
Not reported
After grants and scholarships
150%-time completion
Not reported
Full-time, first-time cohort
Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.
Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.
Upstate Medical University: former-student earnings vs. every US college
10-year median earnings, College Scorecard
$92,257 Top 2% higher than 98% of 5,103 US colleges
Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.
Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals
| Metric | Upstate Medical University | National rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10-yr median earnings | $92,257 | #91 of 5103 | 98th |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 159 | #3896 of 5462 | 29th |
National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.
State rank among 299 reporting New York colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.
| Metric | Upstate Medical University | State rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10-yr median earnings | $92,257 | #15 of 299 | 95th |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 159 | #251 of 367 | 32nd |
| # | School | 10-yr earnings | Net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences | $131,426 | $29,882 |
| 2 | Helene Fuld College of Nursing | $111,027 | $47,181 |
| 3 | SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University | $109,601 | - |
| 4 | Center for Allied Health Education | $107,249 | $48,150 |
| 5 | Miami Ad School-New York | $106,192 | - |
| 6 | St Paul's School of Nursing-Queens | $104,403 | $26,315 |
| 7 | Cornell University | $104,043 | $28,690 |
| 8 | Weill Medical College of Cornell University | $104,043 | - |
| 9 | Columbia University in the City of New York | $102,491 | $21,590 |
| 10 | Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute | $102,051 | $36,228 |
| 11 | Cochran School of Nursing | $99,503 | - |
| 12 | Mount Sinai Phillips School of Nursing | $96,980 | - |
| 15 | Upstate Medical UniversityThis school | $92,257 | - |
| Measure | Cohort / horizon | Value |
|---|---|---|
| Median earnings | 6 years after entry | $83,990 |
| Median earnings | 10 years after entry | $92,257 |
| Share earning over $25,000 | Working, not enrolled | 95.4% |
| Loan repayment rate | Completers, 3 years after leaving | 86.2% |
| Median federal student debt | At completion | $15,000 |
| Estimated monthly payment | Standard 10-year plan | $159/mo |
| Credential | Programs | Award count | Avg earnings | Top earnings | Avg debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Master's | 3 | 136 | $110,898 | $142,670 | $71,995 |
| Bachelor's | 3 | 97 | $97,212 | $116,111 | $15,650 |
| First Professional | 3 | 187 | $92,270 | $115,161 | $186,405 |
Median earnings of program completers, College Scorecard field-of-study file
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
$142,670 median earnings
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
$125,628 median earnings
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing
$116,111 median earnings
Medicine
$115,161 median earnings
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions
$88,981 median earnings
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions
$86,543 median earnings
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions
$82,480 median earnings
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services
$79,170 median earnings
What this shows The highest-earning programs at a school are not necessarily its most popular ones - a small specialized program can post strong median earnings without reflecting the outcome most students here actually see.
| Program | Credential | Completers | Median Earnings | Median Debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Master's | 45 | $142,670 | $95,808 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Master's | 75 | $125,628 | $48,181 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Bachelor's | 35 | $116,111 | - |
| Medicine | First Professional | 150 | $115,161 | $231,479 |
| Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions | Bachelor's | 14 | $88,981 | $15,000 |
| Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions | Bachelor's | 48 | $86,543 | $16,300 |
| Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions | First Professional | 37 | $82,480 | - |
| Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services | First Professional | - | $79,170 | $141,331 |
| Public Health | Master's | 16 | $64,395 | - |
Matches use Scorecard measures among reporting colleges — not state-system recommendations or geographic proximity.
Other Public institutions closest in reported enrollment, preferring the same Carnegie classification.
Public-college profiles lean on IPEDS enrollment and Scorecard Title-IV outcomes. State appropriations are outside this page; the figures below are the federal cohort measures only.
Every number is read live from the Mar–Jul 2026 Scorecard/IPEDS retrievals. Public institutions often enroll large Title-IV cohorts, so medians can be stable — still cohort averages, never a personal forecast. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.
Where to go next from Upstate Medical University
Public-college Scorecard figures are historical Title-IV cohort averages — confirm current tuition, aid, and admissions rules with the institution before deciding.
Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Public-institution profiles compile Scorecard Title-IV earnings, IPEDS enrollment/admissions, and Treasury linkage fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.