Private Nonprofit · Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Curtis Institute of Music

Curtis Institute of Music is a private nonprofit institution in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

4.6%
Acceptance rate
95.6%
150%-time completion

The verdict

Curtis Institute of Music is a highly selective admit.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

4.6%
acceptance rate
95.6%
150%-time completion
City: Large Carnegie: Special Focus (4yr)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Curtis Institute of Music profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Special Focus Four-Year: Arts, Music & Design Schools"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

A+
College Value Score
99/100
Curtis Institute of Music

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings N/A
N/A
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate A+
95.6%
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt N/A
N/A
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment N/A
N/A
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention A+
100.0%
First-year students returning for year two
Curtis Institute of Music vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

Not reported

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

95.6%

Full-time, first-time cohort

150%-time completion vs portal median (57.1%) 95.6%

Four-year-institution cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Curtis Institute of Music vs peers

Curtis Institute of Music positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 6 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Curtis Institute of Music positioned by earn… Carnegie Classification: Special Focus (4yr) Special Fo… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $18K $71K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $5K $45K Avg Net Price ($) UPMC St. Margaret School of Nursing: $67K earn · $27K net · 45% grad UPMC St. Margaret … Valley Forge Military College: $51K earn · $6K net · 95% grad Valley Forge Milit… Commonwealth Technical Institute: $22K earn · $12K net · 80% grad Commonwealth Techn… Peirce College: $51K earn · $12K net · 6% grad Peirce College Empire Beauty School-Center City Philadelphia: $22K earn · $18K net · 35% grad Empire Beauty Scho… Moore College of Art and Design: $38K earn · $43K net · 60% grad Moore College of Art Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

Quick Facts

109
Undergraduate enrollment
4.6%
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
95.6%
150%-time completion
-
10-yr median earnings
100.0%
First-year retention

How Curtis Institute of Music ranks in Pennsylvania

State rank among 270 reporting Pennsylvania colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Curtis Institute of Music State rank Percentile
150%-time completion 95.6% #3 of 259 99th
Undergraduate enrollment 109 #203 of 282 28th

Highest former-student earnings in Pennsylvania

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine$138,767-
2Carnegie Mellon University$114,862$31,944
3University of Pennsylvania$111,371$28,699
4Lehigh University$105,584$36,931
5Villanova University$100,423$43,756
6Bucknell University$93,807$40,766
7Lafayette College$91,410$34,433
8Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia$86,881$29,689
9Saint Joseph's University - Lancaster$86,881$42,478
10Joseph F McCloskey School of Nursing$86,138-
11Drexel University$84,648$38,509
12Swarthmore College$80,257$23,149

Admissions

Admission Rate 4.6%
0%100%4.6%
Share of applicants admitted

Costs & Financial Aid

Tuition & Net Price

In-State Tuition $0
Out-of-State Tuition $0

Net Price by Family Income

0.9%
Pell Grant Rate
0.0%
Federal Loan Rate

What students pay at Curtis Institute of Music rose +981.5% since 2013

Average net price for the reported Title IV-recipient cohort went from $2,584 in 2013 to $27,946 in 2022, a rise of $25,362 in nominal dollars. Across the 49 colleges measured over the same 2013–2022 span, the median change was +24.3%.

Average net price, 2013–2022

10 reported years. Nominal dollars, not adjusted for inflation.

2013: $2,5842014: $8,1712015: $7,3932016: $11,4082017: $15,5982018: $18,2322019: $17,6682020: $10,0972021: $19,9372022: $27,946
2013 · $2,5842022 · $27,946

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, per-year fields (2013–2022). Net price is the average cost after grant and scholarship aid for federally-aided undergraduates.

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

Outcomes

100.0%
Retention Rate
$31,201
Median Earnings (6yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Completion within 150% of normal time First-time, full-time 95.6%
First-year retention First-time, full-time freshmen 100.0%
Median earnings 6 years after entry $31,201

Programs & Earnings

No program-level earnings data available for this school.

Independent Scorecard matches among reporting colleges — not recommendations from the institution or a counselor.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the acceptance rate at Curtis Institute of Music?
Curtis Institute of Music is a private nonprofit institution in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The acceptance rate is 4.6%. Undergraduate enrollment is 109 students.
What is the graduation rate at Curtis Institute of Music?
Curtis Institute of Music has a 95.6% completion rate within 150% of normal time at a four-year institution (typically six years for a bachelor’s program). The first-year retention rate is 100.0%.

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Curtis Institute of Music

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.