Private Nonprofit · Albany, New York

Excelsior University

Excelsior University is a private nonprofit institution in Albany, New York. as a private nonprofit, published Scorecard outcomes cover federal-aid recipients at this campus — endowment and sticker price sit outside those cohort fields.

$78,493
10-yr median earnings

The verdict

Excelsior University posts top-5% former-student earnings.

According to the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard.

Top 4%
former-student earnings, US
+23%
earnings, 6→10 yrs
City: Midsize Carnegie: Master's (L)
View my saved schools

Institution data retrieved July 2026; field-of-study data retrieved March 2026.

How to read this Excelsior University profile

Figures above come from IPEDS institution records published through the College Scorecard (retrieved July 2026 for institution fields; March 2026 for field-of-study). Peer groups and cost cohorts follow IPEDS ownership sector, Carnegie class ("Master's Colleges & Universities: Larger Programs"), and locale, not an editorial shortlist.

Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for full-time, first-time undergraduate Title IV recipients. It is a defined cohort average, not a personalized price; income-band fields add context but do not replace the school's current net-price calculator.

Earnings use Treasury-linked records for federally aided former students who were working and not enrolled in the measurement year (completers and noncompleters). IPEDS completion and retention use separate first-time, full-time cohorts, so those denominators are not the earnings cohort. Read cost, completion, and earnings as distinct historical measures, not a causal verdict or individual forecast.

College Value Score

B+
College Value Score
77/100
Excelsior University

A 6-metric composite of earnings, cost, and completion outcomes benchmarked against every reporting US college, not a ranking of teaching quality, campus life, or fit for any individual student. See the full methodology.

Earnings A+
$78,493
10-year median former-student earnings
Net Price N/A
N/A
Average annual cost after grants and aid
Completion Rate N/A
N/A
Completion within 150% of normal time
Debt D
$13,769
Median federal debt at graduation
Loan Repayment C+
65.1%
Borrowers repaying loans within 3 years
Retention N/A
N/A
First-year students returning for year two
Excelsior University vs. the national benchmark
EarningsNet PriceCompletionDebtRepaymentRetention

Each axis is the percentile score shown in the breakdown at left; the shape shows this school's overall profile at a glance.

10-yr median earnings

$78,493

Federal aid recipients only

Avg net price

Not reported

After grants and scholarships

150%-time completion

Not reported

Full-time, first-time cohort

College ROI Quadrant - Excelsior University vs peers

Excelsior University positioned by earnings vs cost Two-by-two quadrant chart: x-axis median earnings 10 years after enrollment, y-axis average net price after financial aid. Each dot is a college, colored by completion within 150% of normal time (garnet ≥65%, amber 45-64%, red <45%). Net price increases upward, earnings increase rightward, so: bottom-right = best value (low cost, high earnings); top-right = premium (high cost, high earnings); bottom-left = community college tier (low cost, modest earnings); top-left = cost challenge (high cost, low earnings). Currently plotting 8 colleges. Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard joined to Carnegie Classification. Excelsior University positioned by earnings … Carnegie Classification: Master's (L) Master's (… COST CHALLENGE PREMIUM COMMUNITY BEST VALUE $28K $108K Median Earnings 10 Years After Enrollment ($) $11K $47K Avg Net Price ($) Fordham University: $86K earn · $44K net · 81% grad Fordham University Rochester Institute of Technology: $77K earn · $35K net · 70% grad Rochester Institut… St. John's University-New York: $70K earn · $30K net · 67% grad St. John's Univers… Columbia University in the City of New York: $102K earn · $22K net · 96% grad Columbia Universit… Bryant & Stratton College-Online: $33K earn · $15K net · 21% grad Bryant & Stratton … Pace University: $70K earn · $31K net · 61% grad Pace University University at Albany: $68K earn · $17K net · 63% grad Bryant & Stratton College-Albany: $33K earn · $12K net · 25% grad Grad rate (4yr) ≥65% 45-64% <45%
Source: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard + Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education

Each dot is a college plotted by 10-year median earnings (x-axis) vs average net price (y-axis), colored by completion within 150% of normal time. Bottom-right = high earnings/lower price; top-left = lower earnings/higher price.

How Excelsior University ranks nationally

Where this school's former-student earnings fall within the full national distribution of every US college that reports to the College Scorecard, not just its peer set.

Excelsior University: former-student earnings vs. every US college

10-year median earnings, College Scorecard

$78,493 Top 4% higher than 96% of 5,103 US colleges

$0–$20,000: 169 US colleges (3%). Below this entry. $20,000–$40,000: 2,245 US colleges (44%). Below this entry. $40,000–$60,000: 1,897 US colleges (37%). Below this entry. $60,000–$80,000: 606 US colleges (12%). This entry sits in this band. $80,000–$100,000: 134 US colleges (3%). Above this entry. $100,000–$120,000: 39 US colleges (1%). Above this entry. $120,000–$140,000: 11 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. $140,000–$160,000: 2 US colleges (0%). Above this entry. This college $0 $160,000 every US college, bucketed by value

Each bar is a $20K-wide band; taller bars hold more US colleges. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count, share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard · Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Metric Excelsior University National rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $78,493 #212 of 5103 96th
Undergraduate enrollment 11,550 #289 of 5462 95th

National ranks count every operating US college reporting each metric to the College Scorecard, separate from the earnings histogram above.

Quick Facts

11,550
Undergraduate enrollment
-
Acceptance rate
-
SAT average
-
150%-time completion
$78,493
10-yr median earnings
-
First-year retention

How Excelsior University ranks in New York

State rank among 299 reporting New York colleges with College Scorecard data, a separate lens from the national distribution above.

Metric Excelsior University State rank Percentile
10-yr median earnings $78,493 #34 of 299 89th
Undergraduate enrollment 11,550 #17 of 367 95th

Highest former-student earnings in New York

#School10-yr earningsNet price
1Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences$131,426$29,882
2Helene Fuld College of Nursing$111,027$47,181
3SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University$109,601-
4Center for Allied Health Education$107,249$48,150
5Miami Ad School-New York$106,192-
6St Paul's School of Nursing-Queens$104,403$26,315
7Cornell University$104,043$28,690
8Weill Medical College of Cornell University$104,043-
9Columbia University in the City of New York$102,491$21,590
10Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute$102,051$36,228
11Cochran School of Nursing$99,503-
12Mount Sinai Phillips School of Nursing$96,980-
34Excelsior UniversityThis school$78,493-

Student Demographics

Race & ethnicity

Student body at a glance

67.0%
Female
47.7%
First Generation

Outcomes

$63,796
Median Earnings (6yr)
81.7%
Earning Over $25K
65.1%
Loan Repayment, Completers (3yr)

Outcomes & debt snapshot

Measure Cohort / horizon Value
Median earnings 6 years after entry $63,796
Median earnings 10 years after entry $78,493
Share earning over $25,000 Working, not enrolled 81.7%
Loan repayment rate Completers, 3 years after leaving 65.1%
Median federal student debt At completion $13,769
Estimated monthly payment Standard 10-year plan $146/mo

Programs & Earnings

Field-of-study summary by credential

Credential Programs Award count Avg earnings Top earnings Avg debt
Bachelor's 15 2,210 $83,710 $119,783 $15,678
Master's 9 471 $104,139 $144,427 $28,308
Associate's 7 1,221 $73,191 $99,753 $11,177

Top programs at Excelsior University by completer earnings

Median earnings of program completers, College Scorecard field-of-study file

median earnings

What this shows The highest-earning programs at a school are not necessarily its most popular ones - a small specialized program can post strong median earnings without reflecting the outcome most students here actually see.

Source U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard As of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals

Program Credential Completers Median Earnings Median Debt
Security Science and Technology Master's 83 $144,427 -
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management Master's 0 $135,961 $27,333
Nuclear Engineering Technology/Technician Bachelor's 182 $119,783 $10,555
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Master's 49 $118,099 $27,295
Energy Systems Technologies/Technicians Bachelor's 41 $116,151 -
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Bachelor's 112 $102,010 $17,152
Science Technologies/Technicians, General Bachelor's - $100,209 $14,540
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians Bachelor's 41 $99,786 $19,461
Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians Associate's 29 $99,753 -
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities Master's 30 $95,916 $26,341
Business Administration, Management and Operations Master's 192 $93,206 $27,333
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing Associate's 701 $91,265 $13,862
Business Administration, Management and Operations Bachelor's 228 $87,618 $13,323
Information Science/Studies Bachelor's - $87,458 -
Criminal Justice and Corrections Bachelor's 55 $75,828 $14,583

Independent Scorecard matches among reporting colleges — not recommendations from the institution or a counselor.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the admissions statistics for Excelsior University?
Excelsior University is a private nonprofit institution in Albany, New York. Undergraduate enrollment is 11,550 students.
How much do Excelsior University former students earn?
Federally aided former students at Excelsior University who were working and not enrolled had median earnings of $78,493 ten years after entry; the cohort is not limited to graduates. Six years after entry, the corresponding median is $63,796.
Is Excelsior University worth the student debt?
The median student debt at Excelsior University is $13,769, while former students earn a median of $78,493 ten years after enrollment. That debt represents about 18% of those annual earnings. Among borrowers who completed their program, 65.1% are repaying their loans within 3 years. Estimated monthly loan payment is $146.

Sources & methodology

Private-nonprofit profiles emphasize Scorecard cost-after-aid and completion alongside IPEDS Carnegie class. Endowment, gifts, and sticker price are not Scorecard fields on this page.

Figures are the Mar–Jul 2026 federal retrievals. Nonprofit campuses vary widely in aid practice — net price here is the Title-IV-recipient cohort average, not an individual award letter. Read the full methodology for how the data is sourced, computed, and verified.

Where to go next from Excelsior University

Nonprofit Scorecard medians describe federal-aid recipients who were working and not enrolled — they are not sticker-price ROI and not advice.

Every figure on PlainCollege is rendered directly from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard data, no number is typed in by an editor. Private-nonprofit profiles compile Scorecard net-price and earnings cohorts with IPEDS structure fields — no editor-typed figures. See our editorial standards & corrections policy, the methodology behind these numbers, or report a data error on this page. Review the public data changelog. Data current as of Mar–Jul 2026 retrievals.